May 1, 2018

Riding Out Changes In The Market

Volatility in the market is an issue that every investor fears. Many investors have emotional ties to their portfolios and the financial goals they represent. Whether its purpose is to fund a retirement, RV, or a plane ticket to spend time with grandchildren, investment portfolios are often chock full of emotional underpinnings. Market volatility can create a visceral reaction when it seems those goals might be threatened.

The market is a rather crazy place at present. Now, more than ever, it’s time to rely on professional financial guidance. It is the financial advisor’s duty to evaluate your risk tolerance and develop both a process and plan going forward that speaks to your hopes and dreams.

The advisors of Lake Michigan Investment Services (LMIS) draw on the resources and expertise of LPL Financial. They are committed to helping you accomplish your unique financial goals and objectives.

Analysis of needs and goals
Asset allocation strategies
Manager selection
Retirement income
Investment strategies
Ongoing education
Tax management
Long-term capital appreciation
Wealth structuring
Trust services***
Education savings programs
Wealth transfers
Social responsibility goals
Monitoring and maintenance of investments

Contact a LMIS financial consultant today to schedule a free, no-obligation financial review.

***LPL Financial Representatives offer access to Trust Services through The Private Trust Company N.A., an affiliate of LPL Financial. The opinions voiced in this material are for general information only and are not intended to provide specific advice or recommendations for any individual. All investing involves risk including loss of principal. Securities offered through LPL Financial. Member FINRA/SIPC. Insurance products offered through LPL Financial or its licensed affiliates.

Not NCUA Insured. No Credit Union Guarantee. May Lose Value. 

Lake Michigan Credit Union and Lake Michigan Investment Services are not registered broker/dealers and are not affiliated with LPL Financial.

Save The Date! Get Training For LMCU’s 2018 Bridge Run!

Sunday, September 16
Put it on your calendar and get your training plan off the ground. Free training advice is available. LMCU members get a $5 discount! Enter code LMCUMEMBER2018 to activate your discount.  Registration is now open at!

Shred Your Stuff Day Is Now In Florida too!

Most everyone has a pile of old paper documents containing personal or sensitive information. You know…bank statements, old tax returns, investment docs, etc. You don’t want to pitch them in the trash or recycling. That’s how identity thieves make a living. Bring your old paper docs (6 boxes max, please) to one of our drop off locations. Best of all, it’s free!

Saturday, May 5
Portage Branch in Michigan
4084 West Centre Ave., Portage, MI
9 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Monday, May 23
Immokalee Branch in Florida
2470 Immokalee Rd, Naples, FL
9 a.m. to 3 p.m.
We’ll donate $1 for every member bringing documents to shred to Make-A-Wish Southern Florida.

Max’s Reading Adventure Wraps Up!

Max the Monkey fired up the kids all over Michigan and Florida to get their read on. Kids were challenged with completing a five-book reading list and then submitted it for a chance to win a $100 deposit into their savings accounts. Over 1,244 entries were submitted, which translates to about 6,220 books read! Each branch chose a winner. All winners have been contacted. Thanks to all the young readers who entered!

Is Your Child A Kids Club Member Yet?
Kids Club gets children on the road to healthy money saving habits. It’s open to all kids 12 and under who become LMCU members by opening an account. A parent will need to approve and sign the application form. You can open a Kids Club account for your child by stopping by any LMCU branch with their Social Security number and at least $5.00 for an initial deposit. The whole process is quick and easy…just a few minutes.

Buy An Icon Today To Band Together For Kid’s Health Care!

Driven by supporters like you, our Band Together campaign directly benefits children and their families battling a broad range of medical issues. You can buy icons at any LMCU branch location, or make an in-kind donation online through LMCU’s online banking portal. Last year, over $31,250 was raised. Your generosity will help fund children’s programs at these hospitals:

Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital | Grand Rapids Mercy Health | Grand Rapids & Muskegon
Metro Health - University of Michigan Health | Wyoming Holland Hospital | Holland
Munson Healthcare | Traverse City
Bronson Healthcare | Kalamazoo
Borgess Health | Kalamazoo
Beaumont Health System | SE Michigan Covenant Hospital | Saginaw
Golisano Children’s Hospital | SW Florida
NCH Healthcare System | SW Florida

Connect With Us

LMCU Facebook Page LMCU Twitter Page LMCU Instagram Page LMCU YouTube Page